Australia and New Zealand provide non-reciprocal preferential access under South Pacific Regional Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement (SPARTECA), which entered into force on 1 January 1981. Under SPARTECA Australia and New Zealand made commitments to provide duty free access for products from Solomon Islands (and other Forum Island Countries) to their markets.

The aim of the Agreement was to accelerate the development of the Forum Island Countries (FICs) through the expansion and diversification of trade to Australia and New Zealand, promotion of investment in the FICs and the facilitation of economic cooperation including commercial, industrial, agricultural and technical cooperation.