The Europe and International Economic Cooperation (EIEC) Branch is one of the five (5) political branches in the Ministry. The EIEC Branch is responsible for managing bilateral relations with countries in Europe that Solomon Islands establish diplomatic relations with and multilateral institutions based in Europe. The Branch also works closely with the two Solomon Islands Missions in Europe, the Brussels Mission and the Geneva Mission.

The EIEC Branch is the political focal point for multilateral institutions based in Europe. The institutions include; the Commonwealth, European Union (EU), World Trade Organisation (WTO), the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the Bureau for International Exhibition (BIE), International Maritime Organisation (IMO) and the International Organisation for Migration (IOM).

The Commonwealth

The EIEC Branch covers issues discussed and agreed by the Commonwealth Heads of Government in their biennial meeting at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meetings (CHOGM). It provides background papers, logistics and briefing notes for the Solomon Islands delegation to the CHOGM.

As the focal point for the Commonwealth Fund for Technical Cooperation (CFTC), the EIEC Branch disseminates information on CFTC programmes and follows up on the implementation of those projects funded under that facility.  

The EIEC Branch also facilitates other Commonwealth Ministerial meetings like the Commonwealth Youth Ministers meeting, Commonwealth Education Ministers meeting d by other line ministries

The European Union

The EIEC Branch liaise with the Solomon Islands Mission in Brussels to covers issues affecting the Africa Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group with the European Union (EU). The cooperation between ACP and the EU is based on the EU-ACP Cotonou Partnership Agreement. The assistance provided by the EU to the ACP is through the European Development Fund (EDF). The Ministry of Development Planning and Aid Coordination (MDPAC) is the focal point for the implementation and monitoring of the EDF in the country. The EIEC Branch liaises and works closely with MDPAC and attends Ministerial meetings of the ACP Council.

On the bilateral front, the EIEC Branch facilitates correspondence with the Solomon Islands Mission in Canberra, Australia and the Solomon Islands Mission in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. This is because most of the countries in Europe, their Heads of Missions that accredited to Solomon Islands are either based in Canberra, Australia or Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. The EIEC Branch is also working on technical cooperation with countries in Europe.

EIEC Staff List 

 Name  Title  Email address
 Esther O'Brien Baptiste  Assistant Secretary This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.